National Society of Film Critics 2005

Best Picture
* Capote
A History of Violence

Best Director
* David Cronenberg – A History of Violence
Wong Kar-wai – 2046
Bennett Miller – Capote

Best Actor
* Philip Seymour Hoffman – Capote
Jeff Daniels – The Squid and the Whale
Heath Ledger – Brokeback Mountain

Best Actress
* Reese Witherspoon – Walk the Line
Keira Knightley – Pride & Prejudice
Kate Dollenmayer – Funny Ha Ha
Vera Farmiga – Down to the Bone

Best Supporting Actor
* Ed Harris – A History of Violence
Mathieu Amalric – Munich
Frank Langella – Good Night, and Good Luck.

Best Supporting Actress
* Amy Adams – Junebug
Zhang Ziyi – 2046
Catherine Keener – The 40-Year-Old Virgin, The Ballad of Jack and Rose, Capote, and The Interpreter

Best Screenplay
* Noah Baumbach – The Squid and the Whale
Dan Futterman – Capote
Tony Kushner and Eric Roth – Munich

Best Cinematography
* Christopher Doyle, Kwan Pun Leung, and Lai Yiu-fai – 2046
Robert Elswit – Good Night, and Good Luck.
Emmanuel Lubezki – The New World

Best Foreign Language Film
* Head-On (Gegen die Wand)

Best Non-Fiction Film
* Grizzly Man
Darwin’s Nightmare
Ballets Russes

Experimental Awards
* Symbiopsychotaxiplasm: Take One (1968) and Symbiopsychotaxiplasm: Take 2​1⁄2 (2005), William Greaves’ remarkable investigation into the nature of the acting process and power relationships on a movie set.
13 Lakes, Ten Skies, and 27 Years Later, the three 2005 productions of James Benning. Few have done more over the last thirty years to expand the sensory and temporal boundaries of moving pictures.

Film Heritage Award
Unseen Cinema, the 7-disc DVD box set collection of pre-1942 American avant-garde cinema assembled by Anthology Film Archives and Bruce Posner—a massive and unprecedented undertaking made in concert with 60 other film archives and preservation organizations across the globe.

Special Citation
The NSFC commends and congratulates our colleagues Kevin Thomas for his 44-year tenure as a movie critic at the Los Angeles Times, for his tireless championing in the heart of the world’s movie capital of the power and beauty of independent, experimental and foreign film, for his long and important service to moviegoers around the industry, the country and the world.