National Society of Film Critics 2000

Best Picture
* Yi Yi
The House of Mirth

Best Director
* Steven Soderbergh – Traffic and Erin Brockovich
Edward Yang – Yi Yi
Ang Lee – Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (Wo hu cang long)

Best Actor
* Javier Bardem – Before Night Falls
Mark Ruffalo – You Can Count On Me
Tom Hanks – Cast Away

Best Actress
* Laura Linney – You Can Count On Me
Gillian Anderson – The House of Mirth
Ellen Burstyn – Requiem for a Dream

Best Supporting Actor
* Benicio del Toro – Traffic
Fred Willard – Best in Show
Willem Dafoe – Shadow of the Vampire

Best Supporting Actress
* Elaine May – Small Time Crooks
Frances McDormand – Almost Famous and Wonder Boys
Marcia Gay Harden – Pollock

Best Screenplay
* Kenneth Lonergan – You Can Count On Me
Steve Kloves – Wonder Boys
Stephen Gaghan – Traffic

Best Cinematography
* Agnès Godard – Beau Travail
Peter Pau – Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (Wo hu cang long)
Steven Soderbergh – Traffic

Best Non-Fiction Film
* The Life and Times of Hank Greenberg
Dark Days
The Original Kings of Comedy

Experimental Film Award
The Heart of the World

Film Heritage Award
The National Film Preservation Foundation for “Treasures from American Film Archives,” its four-DVD anthology of 50 films, “for preserving and propagating a body of films of cultural and historical significance, with an emphasis on non-Hollywood films.”

Special Citation
Michelangelo Antonioni