Louis Calhern

Born:  February 19, 1895, Brooklyn, New York.


1921:  What’s Worth While, Too Wise Wives, The Blot

1922:  Woman Wake Up

1923:  The Last Moment

1931:  Stolen Heaven, The Road To Singapore, Blonde Crazy

1932:  Okay America!, Night After Night, They Call It Sin, Afraid To Talk, 20 000 Years In Sing Sing, Frisco Jenny

1933:  The Woman Accused, Strictly Personal, The World Gone Mad, Diplomaniacs, Duck Soup

1934:  The Count Of Monte Cristo, The Man With Two Faces, The Affairs of Cellini, Sweet Adeline

1935:  The Arizonian, Woman Wanted, The Last Days of Pompeii

1936:  The Gorgeous Hussy

1937:  Her Husband Lies, The Life of Emile Zola

1938:  Fast Company

1939:  Juarez, 5th Ave Girl, Charlie McCarthy Detective

1940:  I Take This Woman, Dr. Ehrlich’s Magic Bullet

1943:  Heaven Can Wait, Nobody’s Darling

1944:  The Bridge of San Luis Rey, Up In Arms

1946:  Notorious

1948:  Arch of Triumph

1949:  The Red Pony, The Red Danube

1950:  Nancy Goes To Rio, Annie Get Your Gun, The Asphalt Jungle, A Life of Her Own, Devil’s Doorway, Two Weeks With Love, The Magnificent Yankee  (Oscar Nomination: Best Actor)

1951:  It’s A Big Country: An American anthology, The Man With A Cloak

1952:  Invitation, Washington Story, We’re Not Married!, The Prisoner of Zenda, The Bad and the Beautiful

1953:  Confidentially Connie, Julius Caesar, Remains To Be Seen, Latin Lovers, Main Street To Broadway

1954:  Executive Suite, Rhapsody, Men of the Fighting Lady, The Student Prince, Betrayed, Athena

1955:  The Prodigal, Blackboard Jungle

1956:  Forever Darling, High Society


Died:  May 12, 1956, Tokyo, Japan.