Claudette Colbert

Born:  September 13, 1903, Saint-Mande, France

Died:  July 30, 1996, Speightstown, Barbados


1927:  For The Love Of Mike

1929:  The Hole In The Wall, The Lady Lies

1930:  Young Man of Manhattan, The Big Pond, Manslaughter, La Grande Mare, L’Enigmatique Monsieur Parkes

1931:  Honor Among Lovers, The Smiling Lieutenant, Secrets of a Secretary, His Woman

1932:  The Wiser Sex, The Misleading Lady, The Man From Yesterday, Make Me A Star, The Phantom President, The Sign of the Cross

1933:  Tonight Is Ours, I Cover the Waterfront, Three Cornered Moon, Torch Singer

1934:  Four Frightened People, It Happened One NightImitation of Life, Cleopatra

1935:  The Gilded Lily, Private WorldsShe Married Her Boss, The Bride Comes Home

1936:  Under Two Flags

1937:  Maid of Salem, I Met Him In Paris, Tovarich

1938:  Bluebeard’s Eighth Wife, Zaza

1939:  Midnight, It’s A Wonderful World, Drums Along The Mohawk

1940:  Boom Town, Arise My Love

1941:  Skylark, Remember The Day

1942:  The Palm Beach Story

1943:  No Time For Love, So Proudly We Hail

1944:  Since You Went AwayPractically Yours

1945:  Guest Wife

1946:  Tomorrow Is Forever, Without Reservations, The Secret Heart

1947:  The Egg and I

1948:  Sleep My Love, Family Honeymoon

1949:  Bride For Sale

1950:  Three Came Home, The Secret Fury

1951:  Thunder On The Hill, Let’s Make It Legal

1952:  Outpost In Malaya

1954:  Daughters of Destiny, Royal Affairs In Versailles

1955:  Texas Lady

1961:  Parrish


Academy Award:  Best Actress, It Happened One Night (1934)
Nominations:  Best Actress, Private Worlds (1935); Since You Went Away (1944)

Golden Globe Award:  Best Supporting Actress-TV, The Two Mrs. Grenvilles (1986)


Photo by Kristine