Benedict Cumberbatch

Born:  July 19, 1976, Hammersmith, England


2003:  To Kill A King

2006:  Starter For 10, Amazing Grace

2007:  Atonement

2008:  The Other Boleyn Girl

2009:  Burlesque Fairytales, Creation

2010:  Four Lions, Third Star, The Whistleblower

2011:  Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, War Horse, Wreckers

2012:  The Hobbit: An Unexpected JourneyGirlfriend in a Coma

2013:  Star Trek Into Darkness, 12 Years A Slave, The Fifth Estate, August: Osage County, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

2014:  The Imitation GamePenguins of Madagascar, The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

2015:  Black Mass

2016:  Zoolander 2, Doctor Strange

2017:  The Current War, Thor: Ragnarok

2018:  Avengers: Infinity War, The Grinch, Mowgli: Legend of the Jungle

2019:  Avengers: Endgame, Between Two Ferns: The Movie, 1917

2020:  The Courier

2021:  The Mauritanian


Academy Award Nomination:  Best Actor, The Imitation Game (2014)

Golden Globe Award Nominations:  Best Actor-Miniseries/TV Movie, Sherlock (2012); Best Actor-Drama, The Imitation Game (2014); Best Actor-Limited Series/TV Movie, Patrick Melrose (2018)

Emmy Awards:  Best Actor-Miniseries/TV Movie, Sherlock (2014)
Nominations:  Best Actor-Miniseries/TV Movie, Sherlock (2012); Parade’s End (2013); Sherlock (2016); Sherlock (2017); Outstanding Limited Series, Patrick Melrose (2018); Best Actor-Miniseries/TV Movie, Patrick Melrose (2018)

Screen Actors Guild Award Nominations:  Outstanding Motion Picture Cast, August: Osage County (2013); 12 Years A Slave (2013); Best Male Actor-TV Movie/Miniseries, Sherlock (2014); Outstanding Motion Picture Cast, The Imitation Game (2014); Best Male Actor, The Imitation Game (2014); Best Male Actor-TV Movie/Miniseries, Sherlock (2017)


Photo by Gage Skidmore