Barbara Stanwyck

Born:  July 16, 1907, Brooklyn, New York

Died:  January 20, 1990, Santa Monica, California


1927:  Broadway Nights

1929:  The Locked Door, Mexicali Rose

1930:  Ladies of Leisure

1931:  Illicit, Ten Cents a Dance, Night Nurse, The Miracle Woman

1932:  Forbidden, Shopworn, So Big!, The Purchase Price, The Bitter Tea of General Yen

1933:  Ladies They Talk About, Baby Face, Ever In My Heart

1934:  Gambling Lady, A Lost Lady, The Secret Bride

1935:  The Woman In Red, Red Salute, Annie Oakley

1936:  A Message To Garcia, The Bride Walks Out, His Brother’s Wife, Banjo On My Knee, The Plough and the Stars

1937:  Internes Can’t Take Money, This Is My Affair, Stella Dallas, Breakfast For Two

1938:  Always Goodbye, The Mad Miss Manton

1939:  Union Pacific, Golden Boy

1940:  Remember The Night

1941:  The Lady Eve, Meet John Doe, You Belong To Me, Ball Of Fire

1942:  The Great Man’s Lady, The Gay Sisters

1943:  Lady Of Burlesque, Flesh and Fantasy

1944:  Double IndemnityHollywood Canteen

1945:  Christmas In Connecticut

1946:  My Reputation, The Bride Wore Boots, The Strange Love of Martha Ivers

1947:  California, The Two Mrs. Carrolls, The Other Love, Cry Wolf

1948:  B.F.’s Daughter, Sorry Wrong Number

1949:  The Lady Gambles, East Side West Side

1950:  The File on Thelma Jordan, No Man of Her Own, The Furies, To Please A Lady

1951:  The Man With A Cloak

1952:  Clash by Night

1953:  Jeopardy, Titanic, All I Desire, Blowing Wild, The Moonlighter

1954:  Executive Suite, Witness To Murder, Cattle Queen of Montana, The Violent Men

1955:  Escape To Burma, There’s Always Tomorrow

1956:  The Maverick Queen, These Wilder Years

1957:  Crime of Passion, Trooper Hook, Forty Guns

1962:  Walk On The Wild Side

1964:  Roustabout, The Night Walker


Academy Award:  Honorary Oscar, 1981
Nominations:  Best Actress, Stella Dallas (1937); Ball Of Fire (1941); Double Indemnity (1944), Sorry Wrong Number (1948)

Golden Globe Awards:  Best Supporting Actress-TV, The Thorn Birds (1983); Cecil B. DeMille Award, 1985
Nominations:  Best TV Star-Female, The Big Valley (1965); The Big Valley (1966); The Big Valley (1967)

Emmy Awards:  Best Actress-Drama Series, The Big Valley (1966); Best Actress-Limited Series/Special, The Thorn Birds (1983)
Nominations:  Best Actress-Drama Series, The Big Valley (1967); The Big Valley (1968)

Screen Actors Guild Award:  Life Achievement Award, 1967

Venice Film Festival Award:  Special Jury Prize, Executive Suite (1954)