Alec Guinness

Born:  April 2, 1914, Marylebone, England

Died:  August 5, 2000, Midhurst, England.


1934:  Evensong

1946:  Great Expectations

1948:  Oliver Twist

1949:  Kind Hearts and Coronets, A Run For Your Money

1950:  Last Holiday, The Mudlark

1951:  The Lavender Hill MobThe Man In The White Suit

1952:  The Card

1953:  The Captain’s Paradise, Malta Story

1954:  Father Brown

1955:  To Paris With Love, The Prisoner, The Ladykillers

1956:  The Swan

1957:  The Bridge on the River Kwai Barnacle Bill

1958:  The Horse’s Mouth

1959:  The Scapegoat, Our Man In Havana

1960:  Tunes of Glory

1961:  A Majority of One

1962:  Lawrence of Arabia, H.M.S. Defiant

1964:  The Fall of the Roman Empire

1965:  Situation Hopeless…But Not Serious, Doctor Zhivago

1966:  Hotel Paradiso, The Quiller Memorandum

1967:  The Comedians

1970:  Cromwell, Scrooge

1972:  Brother Sun Sister Moon

1973:  Hitler: The Last Ten Days

1976:  Murder By Death

1977:  Star Wars

1980:  The Empire Strikes Back, Raise The Titanic

1983:  Lovesick, Return of the Jedi

1984:  A Passage To India

1987:  Little Dorrit

1988:  A Handful of Dust

1991:  Kafka

1995:  Mute Witness


Academy Awards:  Best Actor, The Bridge on the River Kwai (1957); Honorary Oscar, 1979
Nominations:  Best Actor, The Lavender Hill Mob (1952); Best Screenplay, The Horse’s Mouth (1958); Best Supporting Actor, Star Wars (1977); Little Dorrit (1988)

Golden Globe Award:  Best Actor-Drama, The Bridge on the River Kwai (1957)
Nominations:  Best Supporting Actor, Star Wars (1977); Little Dorrit (1988)

Berlin Film Festival Award:  Honorary Golden Berlin Bear, 1988

Venice Film Festival Award:  Best Actor, The Horse’s Mouth (1958)

Emmy Award Nominations:  Best Actor, Startime (1960); Best Actor-Limited Series/Serial, Smiley’s People (1983)


Photo by Allan warren