Oscar 2013

Christian Bale — American Hustle {“Irving Rosenfeld”}
Bruce Dern — Nebraska {“Woody Grant”}
Leonardo DiCaprio — The Wolf of Wall Street {“Jordan Belfort”}
Chiwetel Ejiofor — 12 Years a Slave {“Solomon Northup”}
* Matthew McConaughey — Dallas Buyers Club {“Ron Woodroof”}

Barkhad Abdi — Captain Phillips {“Muse”}
Bradley Cooper — American Hustle {“Richie DiMaso”}
Michael Fassbender — 12 Years a Slave {“Edwin Epps”}
Jonah Hill — The Wolf of Wall Street {“Donnie Azoff”}
* Jared Leto — Dallas Buyers Club {“Rayon”}

Amy Adams — American Hustle {“Sydney Prosser”}
* Cate Blanchett — Blue Jasmine {“Jasmine”}
Sandra Bullock — Gravity {“Ryan Stone”}
Judi Dench — Philomena {“Philomena”}
Meryl Streep — August: Osage County {“Violet Weston”}

Sally Hawkins — Blue Jasmine {“Ginger”}
Jennifer Lawrence — American Hustle {“Rosalyn Rosenfeld”}
* Lupita Nyong’o — 12 Years a Slave {“Patsey”}
Julia Roberts — August: Osage County {“Barbara Weston”}
June Squibb — Nebraska {“Kate Grant”}

The Croods — Chris Sanders, Kirk DeMicco and Kristine Belson
Despicable Me 2 — Chris Renaud, Pierre Coffin and Chris Meledandri
Ernest & Celestine — Benjamin Renner and Didier Brunner
* Frozen — Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee and Peter Del Vecho
The Wind Rises — Hayao Miyazaki and Toshio Suzuki

The Grandmaster — Philippe Le Sourd
* Gravity — Emmanuel Lubezki
Inside Llewyn Davis — Bruno Delbonnel
Nebraska — Phedon Papamichael
Prisoners — Roger A. Deakins

American Hustle — Michael Wilkinson
The Grandmaster — William Chang Suk Ping
* The Great Gatsby — Catherine Martin
The Invisible Woman — Michael O’Connor
12 Years a Slave — Patricia Norris

American HustleDavid O. Russell
* GravityAlfonso Cuarón
NebraskaAlexander Payne
12 Years a Slave — Steve McQueen
The Wolf of Wall StreetMartin Scorsese

The Act of Killing — Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen
Cutie and the Boxer — Zachary Heinzerling and Lydia Dean Pilcher
Dirty Wars — Richard Rowley and Jeremy Scahill
The Square — Jehane Noujaim and Karim Amer
* 20 Feet from Stardom — Morgan Neville, Gil Friesen and Caitrin Rogers

DOCUMENTARY (Short Subject)
CaveDigger — Jeffrey Karoff
Facing Fear — Jason Cohen
Karama Has No Walls — Sara Ishaq
* The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life — Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed
Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall — Edgar Barens

American Hustle — Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten
Captain Phillips — Christopher Rouse
Dallas Buyers Club — John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa
* Gravity — Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger
12 Years a Slave — Joe Walker

The Broken Circle Breakdown — Belgium
* The Great Beauty — Italy
The Hunt — Denmark
The Missing Picture — Cambodia
Omar — Palestine

* Dallas Buyers Club — Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews
Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa — Stephen Prouty
The Lone Ranger — Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny

MUSIC (Original Score)
The Book Thief — John Williams
* Gravity — Steven Price
Her — William Butler and Owen Pallett
Philomena — Alexandre Desplat
Saving Mr. Banks — Thomas Newman

MUSIC (Original Song)
“Alone Yet Not Alone” from Alone Yet Not Alone — Music by Bruce Broughton; Lyric by Dennis Spiegel
[NOTE: THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL NOMINATION. After the nominations were announced on January 16, 2014, it was determined that Mr. Broughton had taken actions in promoting the song that were inconsistent with the Academy’s campaign regulations. The Board of Governors voted to rescind the nomination on January 29, and only four songs were included on the final ballot.]
“Happy” from Despicable Me 2 — Music and Lyric by Pharrell Williams
* “Let It Go” from Frozen — Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
“The Moon Song” from Her — Music by Karen O; Lyric by Karen O and Spike Jonze
“Ordinary Love” from Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom — Music by Paul Hewson, Dave Evans, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen; Lyric by Paul Hewson

American Hustle — Charles Roven, Richard Suckle, Megan Ellison and Jonathan Gordon, Producers
Captain Phillips — Scott Rudin, Dana Brunetti and Michael De Luca, Producers
Dallas Buyers Club — Robbie Brenner and Rachel Winter, Producers
Gravity — Alfonso Cuarón and David Heyman, Producers
Her — Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze and Vincent Landay, Producers
Nebraska — Albert Berger and Ron Yerxa, Producers
Philomena — Gabrielle Tana, Steve Coogan and Tracey Seaward, Producers
* 12 Years a Slave — Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen and Anthony Katagas, Producers
The Wolf of Wall Street — Martin Scorsese, Leonardo DiCaprio, Joey McFarland and Emma Tillinger Koskoff, Producers

American Hustle — Production Design: Judy Becker; Set Decoration: Heather Loeffler
Gravity — Production Design: Andy Nicholson; Set Decoration: Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard
* The Great Gatsby — Production Design: Catherine Martin; Set Decoration: Beverley Dunn
Her — Production Design: K.K. Barrett; Set Decoration: Gene Serdena
12 Years a Slave — Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Alice Baker

SHORT FILM (Animated)
Feral — Daniel Sousa and Dan Golden
Get a Horse! — Lauren MacMullan and Dorothy McKim
* Mr. Hublot — Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares
Possessions — Shuhei Morita
Room on the Broom — Max Lang and Jan Lachauer

SHORT FILM (Live Action)
Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me) — Esteban Crespo
Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just before Losing Everything) — Xavier Legrand and Alexandre Gavras
* Helium — Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson
Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?) — Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari
The Voorman Problem — Mark Gill and Baldwin Li

All Is Lost — Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns
Captain Phillips — Oliver Tarney
* Gravity — Glenn Freemantle
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug — Brent Burge and Chris Ward
Lone Survivor — Wylie Stateman

Captain Phillips — Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith and Chris Munro
* Gravity — Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug — Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick and Tony Johnson
Inside Llewyn Davis — Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff and Peter F. Kurland
Lone Survivor — Andy Koyama, Beau Borders and David Brownlow

* Gravity — Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, David Shirk and Neil Corbould
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug — Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and Eric Reynolds
Iron Man 3 — Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash and Dan Sudick
The Lone Ranger — Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams and John Frazier
Star Trek Into Darkness — Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann and Burt Dalton

WRITING (Adapted Screenplay)
Before Midnight — Written by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke
Captain Phillips — Screenplay by Billy Ray
Philomena — Screenplay by Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope
* 12 Years a Slave — Screenplay by John Ridley
The Wolf of Wall Street — Screenplay by Terence Winter

WRITING (Original Screenplay)
American Hustle — Written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell
Blue Jasmine — Written by Woody Allen
Dallas Buyers Club — Written by Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack
* Her — Written by Spike Jonze
Nebraska — Written by Bob Nelson

* Angelina Jolie

* To Angela Lansbury, an entertainment icon who has created some of cinema’s most memorable characters, inspiring generations of actors.
* To Steve Martin in recognition of his extraordinary talents and the unique inspiration he has brought to the art of motion pictures.
* To Piero Tosi, a visionary whose incomparable costume designs shaped timeless, living art in motion pictures.