Oscar 1949

* Broderick Crawford — All the King’s Men {“Willie Stark”}
Kirk Douglas — Champion {“Midge Kelly”}
Gregory Peck — Twelve O’Clock High {“General Savage”}
Richard Todd — The Hasty Heart {“Lachie”}
John Wayne — Sands of Iwo Jima {“Sergeant John M. Stryker”}

John Ireland — All the King’s Men {“Jack Burden”}
* Dean Jagger — Twelve O’Clock High {“Major Stovall”}
Arthur Kennedy — Champion {“Connie Kelly”}
Ralph Richardson — The Heiress {“Dr. Austin Sloper”}
James Whitmore — Battleground {“Kinnie”}

Jeanne Crain — Pinky {“Pinky”}
* Olivia de Havilland — The Heiress {“Catherine Sloper”}
Susan Hayward — My Foolish Heart {“Eloise Winters”}
Deborah Kerr — Edward, My Son {“Evelyn Boult”}
Loretta Young — Come to the Stable {“Sister Margaret”}

Ethel Barrymore — Pinky  {“Miss Em”}
Celeste Holm — Come to the Stable {“Sister Scholastica”}
Elsa Lanchester — Come to the Stable {“Miss Potts”}
* Mercedes McCambridge — All the King’s Men {“Sadie Burke”}
Ethel Waters — Pinky  {“Granny”}

ART DIRECTION (Black-and-White)
Come to the Stable — Art Direction: Lyle Wheeler, Joseph C. Wright; Set Decoration: Thomas Little, Paul S. Fox
* The Heiress — Art Direction: Harry Horner, John Meehan; Set Decoration: Emile Kuri
Madame Bovary — Art Direction: Cedric Gibbons, Jack Martin Smith; Set Decoration: Edwin B. Willis, Richard A. Pefferle

The Adventures of Don Juan — Art Direction: Edward Carrere; Set Decoration: Lyle Reifsnider
* Little Women — Art Direction: Cedric Gibbons, Paul Groesse; Set Decoration: Edwin B. Willis, Jack D. Moore
Saraband — Art Direction: Jim Morahan, William Kellner, Michael Relph

CINEMATOGRAPHY (Black-and-White)
* Battleground — Paul C. Vogel
Champion — Frank Planer
Come to the Stable — Joseph LaShelle
The Heiress — Leo Tover
Prince of Foxes — Leon Shamroy

The Barkleys of Broadway — Harry Stradling
Jolson Sings Again — William Snyder
Little Women — Robert Planck, Charles Schoenbaum
Sand — Charles G. Clarke
* She Wore a Yellow Ribbon — Winton Hoch

COSTUME DESIGN (Black-and-White)
* The Heiress — Edith Head, Gile Steele
Prince of Foxes — Vittorio Nino Novarese

* The Adventures of Don Juan — Leah Rhodes, Travilla, Marjorie Best
Mother Is a Freshman — Kay Nelson

All the King’s Men — Robert Rossen
Battleground — William A. Wellman
The Fallen Idol — Carol Reed
The HeiressWilliam Wyler
* A Letter to Three WivesJoseph L. Mankiewicz

* Daybreak in Udi — Crown Film Unit
Kenji Comes Home — Paul F. Heard, Producer

DOCUMENTARY (Short Subject)
* A Chance to Live — Richard de Rochemont, Producer
[NOTE: A tie. The other winning film in this category was So Much for So Little.]
1848 — French Cinema General Cooperative
The Rising Tide — St. Francis-Xavier University, Antigonish, Nova Scotia
* So Much for So Little — Edward Selzer, Producer
[NOTE: A tie. The other winning film in this category was A Chance to Live.]

All the King’s Men — Robert Parrish, Al Clark
Battleground — John Dunning
* Champion — Harry Gerstad
Sands of Iwo Jima — Richard L. Van Enger
The Window — Frederic Knudtson

MUSIC (Music Score of a Dramatic or Comedy Picture)
Beyond the Forest — Max Steiner
Champion — Dimitri Tiomkin
* The Heiress — Aaron Copland

MUSIC (Scoring of a Musical Picture)
Jolson Sings Again — Morris Stoloff, George Duning
Look for the Silver Lining — Ray Heindorf
* On the Town — Roger Edens, Lennie Hayton

MUSIC (Song)
* “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” from Neptune’s Daughter — Music and Lyrics by Frank Loesser
“It’s A Great Feeling” from It’s a Great Feeling — Music by Jule Styne; Lyrics by Sammy Cahn
“Lavender Blue” from So Dear to My Heart — Music by Eliot Daniel; Lyrics by Larry Morey
“My Foolish Heart” from My Foolish Heart — Music by Victor Young; Lyrics by Ned Washington
“Through A Long And Sleepless Night” from Come to the Stable — Music by Alfred Newman; Lyrics by Mack Gordon

* All the King’s Men — Robert Rossen Productions
Battleground — Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer
The Heiress — Paramount
A Letter to Three Wives — 20th Century-Fox
Twelve O’Clock High — 20th Century-Fox

Canary Row — Edward Selzer, Producer
[NOTE: THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL NOMINATION. Nomination withdrawn by producer.]
* For Scent-Imental Reasons — Edward Selzer, Producer
Hatch Up Your Troubles — Fred Quimby, Producer
The Magic Fluke — Stephen Bosustow, Producer
Toy Tinkers — Walt Disney, Producer

* Aquatic House-Party — Jack Eaton, Producer
Roller Derby Girl — Justin Herman, Producer
So You Think You’re Not Guilty — Gordon Hollingshead, Producer
Spills and Chills — Walton C. Ament, Producer
Water Trix — Pete Smith, Producer

The Boy and the Eagle — William Lasky, Producer
Chase of Death — Irving Allen, Producer
The Grass Is Always Greener — Gordon Hollingshead, Producer
Snow Carnival — Gordon Hollingshead, Producer
* Van Gogh — Gaston Diehl and Robert Haessens, Producers

Once More, My Darling — Universal-International Studio Sound Department, Leslie I. Carey, Sound Director
Sands of Iwo Jima — Republic Studio Sound Department, Daniel J. Bloomberg, Sound Director
Twelve O’Clock High — 20th Century-Fox Studio Sound Department, Thomas T. Moulton, Sound Director

* Mighty Joe Young — ARKO Productions
Tulsa — Walter Wanger Pictures

WRITING (Motion Picture Story)
Come to the Stable — Clare Boothe Luce
It Happens Every Spring — Shirley W. Smith, Valentine Davies
Sands of Iwo Jima — Harry Brown
* The Stratton Story — Douglas Morrow
White Heat — Virginia Kellogg

WRITING (Screenplay)
All the King’s Men — Robert Rossen
The Bicycle Thief — Cesare Zavattini
Champion  — Carl Foreman
The Fallen Idol — Graham Greene
* A Letter to Three Wives — Joseph L. Mankiewicz

WRITING (Story and Screenplay)
* Battleground — Robert Pirosh
Jolson Sings Again — Sidney Buchman
Paisan — Alfred Hayes, Federico Fellini, Sergio Amidei, Marcello Pagliero, Roberto Rossellini
Passport to Pimlico — T. E. B. Clarke
The Quiet One — Helen Levitt, Janice Loeb, Sidney Meyers

* To The Bicycle Thief – voted by the Academy Board of Governors as the most outstanding foreign language film released in the United States during 1949.

To Bobby Driscoll, as the outstanding juvenile actor of 1949.
To Fred Astaire for his unique artistry and his contributions to the technique of musical pictures.
To Cecil B. DeMille, distinguished motion picture pioneer, for 37 years of brilliant showmanship.
To Jean Hersholt, for distinguished service to the motion picture industry.